Pawling Joint Sewer Commission

The Pawling Joint Sewer Commission was created in February 1983.

The Commission has overall responsibility for and supervision of the construction, operation and maintenance, the supervision of and repayment of indebtedness.

The Sewer District has a total of 718 customers; 475 village residents and 243 town residents.

The Commission consists of six members, five members consisting of the Mayor and the four members of the Village of Pawling Board of Trustees and one member from the Town of Pawling appointed by the Town Supervisor.

The Sewer Commission Clerks office is located in the Village Hall at 9 Memorial Ave.The office hours are Mon. through Friday, 8:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. The Clerk can also be reached by phone at 845-855-9442 or email: [email protected].

The Commission annually meets to elect its own chairman, vice-chairman, secretary and treasurer. The Commission meets annually on the 2nd Thursday of December for the annual reorganization meeting. In addition to the election of officers, the day and time of regular monthly business meetings are established.

The Commission meets on the second Thursday of each month at 7:00 p.m. in the meeting room at the Village Hall.

The Commission annually prepares a budget and bills the sewer customers quarterly.

The rate schedule is prepared in connection with the operation and maintenance costs of the sewerage system. The yearly cost to the individual user is the total amount of water the individual user uses divided by the total amount of water treated.

The yearly debt costs are charged based on usage and assessed value.

The Waste Water Treatment Plant is located at 37 Corbin Rd. in the Village of Pawling.

The SPDES permit is for 320,000 gpd.

Commission Members

Name Title
Dan Peters Chair
Lauri Taylor Commissioner
John Burweger Commissioner
Tom Meyer Commissioner
James Schmitt Commissioner
Christine A. Brown Secretary / Billing Clerk